EUROPEAN MOBILITY WEEK and SUMP awards finalists announced

  • mobility

EUROCITIES members Milan, Prague and Vienna are among the finalists for the European awards on sustainable urban mobility.

The European Commission has revealed the finalists of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2017 and the 6th Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP).

The EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK award showcases local authorities that demonstrate significant efforts in promoting sustainable urban mobility during the campaign taking place each year from 16-22 September. The finalists for this award are: Granada (Spain), Prague (Czech Republic) and Vienna (Austria).

Prague, which will host the next EUROCITIES Mobility Forum meeting on 23-25 April, excelled in creating mutually beneficial partnerships with NGOs and local businesses during the last EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK.

Vienna carried out a diverse programme of activities that closely reflected the campaign's message: ‘Clean, shared and intelligent mobility’.

For the first time, a category for towns and cities with under 50,000 inhabitants has been included as part of the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK award.The finalists are: Igoumenitsa (Greece), Lindau (Germany) and Tivat (Montenegro).

The SUMP award recognises outstanding sustainable urban mobility planning. The 6th edition focused on shared mobility in the planning process. The finalists are: Greater Manchester (United Kingdom), Milan (Italy) and Turda (Romania).

Greater Manchester was lauded for its progressive vision, high ambition and exemplary cooperation with the private and non-profit sectors. Milan was praised for its stakeholder involvement when designing its SUMP and for its work to introduce a 'Mobility as a Service' platform that brings together apps across modes of transport to facilitate shared mobility.

All finalists were selected by an independent panel of mobility and transport experts.The three winners will be announced at a ceremony in Brussels on 21 March 2018. Commissioner Violeta Bulc, responsible for Transport, and Daniel Calleja, director-general for environment, will present the awards to the winning towns and cities.

For more information visit

Photo credit: comune di Milano

EUROCITIES staff contact

Juan Caballero